India > Culture > Caste System

Caste System in India

According to the census report 2011, the large per cent of Indian population belongs to Hindu religion (approximately 79.80% of total population). Other important religions of India are Muslim (14.23%), Christians (2.30%), Sikhs (1.72%), Buddhist (0.70%) and Jain (0.37%). These religion groups are divided into several castes and sub-castes. Among them Hindu, Christian and Muslim Caste System are vital in Indian democracy.

Caste system is an activity by which we decide the rank of a person in society. So, it creates differences in people relationship. The people of each caste have professional limits which decide what profession can be done for a particular person. Each caste members can have social relations only with its caste members. Religiously this includes marriage and even eating only with caste members.

Caste system in Hindu Religion

Hindu Caste system in pre-independent India

Hinduism is the main religion in India from the ancient period of the nation. Indian Hindus were divided in four major groups (this classification is locally called as Jativeda or Varnaveda) namely Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vaishya and Sudra.

Brahmins were most superior community in Hindu societies. Basically Brahmins were teacher or worshiper to God in profession. Other three castes have to maintain the rules which were expressed by Brahmins.

Kshatriyas community groups initially were the warrior of the societies. Kshatriyas were the ruler of the societies and they gradually became more powerful and dominant class in the societies.

Vaishya were the worker of respectful field in the societies. Basically they had their own business or they worked in responsible post in the societies.

Sudras were the most common people in Hindu societies who belong to the class of workers or labor categories. They were the lower rank of above mention four classes.

A large number of Hindu communities had no class of above mention four types. Basically they were casteless or untouchables and they had no importance in Indian Hindu societies. They were not allowed to prey god in the temples of societies.

Modern status of Hindu caste system

Hindu caste system totally changed and it appear in a new look after Indian independence. It was reformed by Indian Parliament house and recognize Hindu caste system in different scheduled. Today's caste system basically stands on four major Castes namely Higher Caste, Scheduled Caste (SC), Scheduled Tribes (ST) and Other Backward Caste (OBC).

Higher Caste

Superior class of the Hindu societies is Higher Caste. Basically the Brahmins and Kshatriyas of ancient India are familiar with this caste today.

Other Backward Classes (OBC)

Second Superior class of the Hindu societies is OBC. Basically the Vaishyas and Sudras of ancient India are familiar with this caste today. Moreover 50% of total population belongs to this caste system. This caste system originates its form with thousands of sub-castes.

Scheduled castes (SC)

Basically the casteless or untouchable community groups of ancient India are familiar with this caste system today. Near about 16% of total population of India belongs to this caste. This caste system consists with 49 sub-castes.

Scheduled tribes (ST)

This cast system was also the familiar with casteless or untouchable community groups. Basically the tribal groups every corner of India consists this caste. Near about 7% of the total population belongs to this caste system. Scheduled tribes are divided into several sub-tribes.

India is the largest democratic country in the world and there have no different rule to different caste. Indian Government provide same rule for each and every citizen of the country. As result of democracy Indian Backward casts gradually increased its human growth and urbanized or educated person of Hindu communities mostly dislike the caste system. In my personal opinion Cast System is the most stupid and valueless system for any urbanized or educated societies of the world. But, some aspects of Hindu families in India still follow the cast system mainly in marriages ceremony.

Caste System in Other Religions

Muslim Caste System: Mophilla community of the state Kerala is descendants of Arab merchants. Pathan community is descendants from Tribes of Israel. Normally the Pathan community of India has an image of being brave, honest and righteous. Many native Indians converted into Muslim and they claim themselves as a Pathan which not always true. The Muslims of western India mainly include in Bohra and Khoja communities. Basically these two communities are native Indian but in the time of medieval history they were converted in Muslim from different religions.

Indian Muslim communities can be classified three classes according to the rank or position in Muslim societies. Higher class Muslim includes Syeds, Moghals, Pathans, Shaikhs, etc are most respectful in Indian Muslim societies. Middle class Muslim includes Shaikhzada, Khanzada and Malik etc are better respectful then backward class in Indian Muslim societies. Backward or lower class Muslim includes Ansari, Kalus, Jolas, Nikaris, Kunjra, Churihara, Dhobi and Halalkhor, etc are bellow above two classes in Indian Muslim societies and they are not allowed to make a marital relation with upper two class.

Christian Caste System: The lower caste Christianity is called depressed classes or Dalit Christians. A recent incident in a South Indian Church, where Adi-Dravid Christians powerfully occupied seats allotted to caste Christians, led to effective separation as Christians and untouchable Adi-Dravid Christians. In another incident, a Christian priest at Erode, on his Bishop's instruction, segregated Adi-Dravid Christians from caste Christians in Church. The caste Catholics of Trichinopoly refused to allow celebration of a depressed Christian's marriage in Church.